Post-College Running And Work-Life Balance

I’ll never be a professional runner. Something I’ve aspired to be for years. I’d love to spend my days working out, repping my brand, throwing up after hard track sessions, and travelling to race against the best competition I could.

That isn’t a life I will live, though. I’m mediocre at best. I can put in all the work that I want to, but I’ll never be able to reach that echelon. Does it discourage me?

Of course it does. If I can’t realize my dream, what do I do? When faced with that situation, we all have a few options. We could pick a different dream, or capitalize on what we’re dealt.

I’ve decided, for right now, to capitalize on the hand I was dealt. While running remains something very important to me, I’ve tried to balance it out. I don’t get paid, so it doesn’t make sense for me to put all of my mental energy in it. That’s why I write. That’s why I’m employed.

To strike a balance between work and passion is something I haven’t mastered, but am working on everyday. New projects, reading, or challenges all give me some variation. They give me a chance to distract myself from my hyper focus on running.

From what I’ve found so far, this is paramount in order for me to keep it together. Too much focus on any one thing is never great. since I’m not ready to search out a life time career just yet, I’m finding that this balance is working quite well for now.

What kinds of things do you do to keep balance in your life? Let me know in the comments below, and thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

